Parish Council

Our vision is that Ardingly is a place where an inclusive active community life is valued alongside a vibrant economy, within its outstanding landscape setting.

Our aim for this website is to provide easy access to information about the Parish Council with some background about the features that make our village so special. We are also developing community pages where you will be able to find details of forthcoming events, information about local clubs and a directory of local businesses.

The Parish Council meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 7.30pm in the Reading Room at Hapstead Hall. Members of the public are welcome to attend, and the meetings usually last 2 to 2.5 hours.

Ardingly Parish Council represents the Civil Parish across a range of civic duties including management of the village’s assets (Hapstead Hall, recreation ground, pavilion, public toilets, tennis courts) as well as responding to consultations on local planning matters, implementing the ‘actions’ of the Village Plan and providing a voice for the village to District and County Councils.
Much of the work of the Council is carried out by committees. The Finance, Emergency Planning and Recreation Ground committees each have their own budget, while the Planning and Traffic committees act as advisory committees reporting to the full parish council.

The Parish Council has Ten members who are assisted by part time employees. Councillors give their time for no remuneration.

  • Derek Stutchbury (Chair)
  • Chris Hotblack (Vice Chair)
  • Paul Burr
  • Rowena Chalk
  • Vivien MCcaig
  • James Horsman
  • Margaret Meldrum
  • John Paul
  • David Port
  • Brian Strutton

The council also has two paid members of staff:

Bernadette Cox (Parish Clerk)
Richard Wheatley (Responsible Finance Officer)